Basket quilt finish!

???????????????????????????????Here’s the quilt that I quilted this week…  I tried a new motif in the border using a floral I found on FB called “Alfresco”.  Did some shadow quilting

to fill in the empty spaces so the quilting would be balanced from the center to the outer border.  These blocks were made for me in “Quilt Dreams” online bee

on flickr 4 years ago…  Decided to dust the top off and get it quilted!  IMG_3185Here’s a close up on the border and a couple of the baskets.  I like the effects of the scallops.

IMG_3187This is one of my favorites, because it’s a cat!  LOL! You can also see a close-up on the rouched flowers that I added to the applique.  I enjoy this effect…

I love these all!  They were made by Spiced Coffee, Jgmehlin, Nanotchka, Boutiquenutmegdesigns, HartHill, and myself.

I mailed out the fabrics and theme when it was my “month” to pick.  I had a kit that pulled out and sent to the members of the bee.

They each made me 2 blocks and sent them back.  It was fun to figure out how to put them all together as some were set on-point.  I added some applique and ‘voila!

And last but not least, my photobombing kitty had to make an appearance!???????????????????????????????He definitely approves!  Thanks for stopping by!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Basket quilt finish!”

  1. Lucie the Happy Quilter Says:

    It looks fantastic. Well done. Thanks for sharing your finish.

  2. treadlemusic Says:

    Nicely done!!!! The quilting is perfect and the border so nicely carries the organic/flower theme outward. A really sweet finish cuz it was done by bloggy friends, too!!!!! Hugs…………..

  3. cdahlgren2013 Says:

    Absolutely wonderful! What other gems are sitting in a pile somewhere? I would love to be able to explore your quilting areas, it would be like a treasure hunt. This is so beautiful, and I don’t think I’ve seen anything you’ve made that isn’t. I guess I should take my advice and finish up my WIPS too.

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Thank you! I have about 10 tops waiting for attention. I stopped working and couldn’t afford the quilting, so I just sat on the tops! It’s fun to finally get them finished!

  4. trkingmomoe Says:

    That is lovely. I hope you are showing off to every one you know. Thanks for sharing.

  5. adaisygarden Says:

    So beautiful! Love the colors & the theme.

  6. soma1773 Says:

    Such gorgeous quilting, Ruth!! He appreciates beautiful work of art :)

    -Soma

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 642 other followers

