My Journey Through Fabric…

I really wanted to write more about the sad looking mini quilt I made for one of my flickr friends, Jgmehlin.  It so looks like Igor from the back, but from the front it is beautiful…  It is so funny how these skeewampus quilties can really be beautiful when viewed from the front…  The technique involved the use of Steam a Seam and lots of bias strips.  I love the bias strip makers without which this project would have been much more difficult!

My Flickr freind Lollydo wrote the following- I think you are trying to create a visual for this story:

Linda Burnett, 23, a resident of Chicago, was visiting her in-laws and while there went to a nearby supermarket to pick up some groceries. Her husband later noticed her sitting in her car in the driveway with the windows rolled up and with her eyes closed, with both hands behind the back of her head. He became
concerned and walked over to the car. He noticed that Linda’s eyes were now open and she looked very strange. He asked her if she was okay, and Linda replied that she had been shot in the back of the head and had been holding her brains in for over an hour.

The husband called the paramedics, who broke into the car because the doors were locked and Linda refused to remove her hands from her head. When they finally got in, they found that Linda had a wad of bread dough on the back of her head. A Pillsbury biscuit canister had exploded from the heat, making a loud noise that sounded like a gunshot, and the wad of dough hit her in the back of her head. When she reached back to find out what it was, she felt the dough and thought it was her brains. She initially passed out, but quickly
recovered.

Your Friend,

Lori

 
     

This pattern is actually from a Stained Glass pattern that was a freebie online.  It was from the website Chantal’s Stained Glass.  It was a line drawing that I enlarged to the size I needed.  I did simplify it a little as the bias strips didn’t want to go around tight corners!

One of my flickr friends, hectichousehold took a photo on her forsythia, and I liked it so much, I did it with mine!

Today, I received my gorgeous quilt from the STUD Swap “Don’t be square…”  This is the quilt that I received:

This quilt was entirely hand pieced using English paper piecing.  One of the girls pointed out it’s cubes in a triangle!  How’s that for a play on words?  This was a great swap, and I’m so pleased with the results!

 

 

 

 

Here’s our new kitten Milo, checking out the goodies that Julie sent.  He approves!  Milo has a sibling we adopted too, but we haven’t gotten a good picture yet.  He (she?) is a Siamese colored kitty.  Both kittens have colds in their eyes, and will be posing for numerous pictures once the eye goo issues have resolved!

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “My Journey Through Fabric…”

  1. Lori Ricci Says:

    Good grief Ruth! This is incredible! My Great Aunt made a stained glass quilt for my Mom using irises. It’s lovely, but yours takes the cake! xo

Leave a Reply

