Quilting Gallery Submission!

      This is the quilt that I’m entering in the Quilting Gallery this Friday!  The theme for this one is “Wall Hangings”…  Well, if you know me, you know that I’ve got a million of them!  LOL!  I have several challenge quilts that I have done over the years, and this is one of my favorites!!!

This one was for the Roy Quilt Guild challenge 4 years ago.  We picked 3 random paint chips from a paper bag and we had to incorporate those colors into the front of the quilt.

I had been looking for any excuse to make this photograph that I took at the Sister’s Quilt Show in Sisters, Oregon, into a quilt!  I had attended the show with a couple of fellow quilters, Sue and Sue!  (We were 2 Sues and a Ruth, before one of the Sues moved away :-(…)

I incorporated some 3-D images in this, which I’ll show you shortly!

The center quilt is 3-D, and the flower basket on the 1st floor is 3-D using a technique called “rouching”.  I used beads to represent the flowers!  I love using bling!

Of course in my world, every building would have a little antique sewing machine in the window!

The techniques I used to make this quilt were paper piecing, and picture piecing.  If you’ve never heard of picture piecing it is a technique taught by Cynthia England, one of my favorite quilters ever!!!  Mine is very simple compared to hers!!!

I overdyed the blue house fabrics with a grey dye for the shadowed areas of the house.  I included the blocks along the side for a little more traditional addition to the quilt!  There’s nothing like a little churn dash!  The quilt measures approximately 16 x 20.5 inches.  I machine quilted it using a clear YLI nylon thread.   I used a 80/20 cotton batt.  I love this one!

This is the label on the back of the quilt!  I showed the 3 paint chips that I had to use the colors from!  I added the blue in the house to act as a compliment to the orange-toned fabrics.

Under the center quilt are 3 fussy cut little kittys to represent myself and my friends at the quilt show!  Awww….!  LOL!   Thanks for joining me in this trip down memory lane!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Quilting Gallery Submission!”

  1. Cindy Sharp Says:

    I’d like to live on Memory Lane, right next door to you,

  2. Tricia Says:

    I just love you wall hanging,I found it on the quilters compertition and just had to hop over to your blog.

  3. Bente Says:

    -this Wallhanging ist absoutely gorgeous, my favorite in the contest and I gave you my vote!
    Liebe Grüße
    Bente – Germany
    in the contest too ☺

  4. Queenie Says:

    I just popped over from voting and am so glad I did. I love the 3-D elements, wonderful! By the way, yes I voted for you :o)
    You have a lovely blog too!
    Have a great day.
    Always, Queenie

  5. ruthiequilts Says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog! I loved making this quilt… I have it hanging in my home!

Leave a Reply

