Whacking seams…

Whacking seams... by ruthiequilts
Whacking seams…, a photo by ruthiequilts on Flickr.

There are 13 seams that meet up at the corner where Jack is pointing. (Jack, the Ripper) That means sewing through 26 layers of fabric! It was getting very hard to do, so I used a trick one of my machine quilters told me about… Hitting your seams with a hammer to soften them up… (Now mind you, my quilter didn’t want to do it, but told me I could do it myself and re-stitch the small section on my home machine! LOL! It was my “Dear Jane” and there was no way I would take a hammer to it! 2 years of work!)

I whacked these seams (using a towel under the block and on top of it where I was hitting it with the hammer) and it was much easier to sew through and a little less bulky than my sample!

Note to self, “Don’t whack seams on a nice wood table…”

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Whacking seams…”

  1. treadlemusic Says:

    I have been told that the ‘whacking’ of seam intersections does help. I haven’t done piecing that put that many seams coming together in one spot. I am glad that it helped you out. And such a little block, too!!

  2. candy Says:

    Jack the Ripper!! 🙂 I laughed out loud when I read that!

    We had a speaker at our guild who actually sold a special tool (read that…hammer) for just that purpose. It was the first time I’d ever heard of that. It’s an idea I may try. Sometimes those bulky seams are a nuisance! 🙂

  3. EdyB Says:

    Me, too and I’m still laughing … Heeeee … Jack the ripper … Heeeee! You crack me upI

Leave a Reply

