Spool quilt top without applique

Spool quilt top without applique by ruthiequilts
Spool quilt top without applique, a photo by ruthiequilts on Flickr.

Still have a billion applique pieces to add to my spool quilt edges! I have about 2/3’s of them prepped. I am using the freezer paper method and I’ll machine stitch them on with some nylon thread.

Much as I’d love to hand stitch them on, the quilt is just too big to drag along. I would have done the borders prior to sewing them on, but the applique design goes through each of the corners. It has vines, and it would have just been to difficult to start and stop them at the borders where the seams come together.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Spool quilt top without applique”

  1. Queenie Says:

    Beautiful Quilt top. Looking forward to seeing the applique.
    Have a great day.
    Always, Queenie

  2. treadlemusic Says:

    A “billion”…..really???? You sound like me!!!! The appliques will really add a wonderful dimension to this quilt. This is one of my favorite patterns and it looks ‘smashing’!!

  3. candy Says:

    Are the spools strip pieced? I think an applique border will be great on this quilt!

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      We swapped out the thread part of the spools in our guild group. Each thread portion is made up of 4 strips. My color was brown…. Good think I got more colors! LOL!

Leave a Reply

