Christmas “Dear Jane” swap finished!

Christmas "Dear Jane" swap finished! by ruthiequilts
Christmas “Dear Jane” swap finished!, a photo by ruthiequilts on Flickr.

Here I am showing my Layton UFO finish at the Roy Quilt guild! Talk about confusing! I have 2 more stacks of blocks in 30’s fabrics and in fall fabrics that I swapped back in my “Dear Jane” phase in the Yahoo DJ/DJAlternate groups! (Not to mention the 2 inch blocks… LOL!) That one will be a doll quilt and only have about 30 ‘ish blocks in it! Yay for UFO finishes!!!

“Dear Jane” is a pattern book created by Brenda Papadakis.  She created the patterns from a quilt made in 1863 by Jane Steckle.  Brenda wrote numerous “letters” as if writing to Jane Steckle.  I completed my full size “Dear Jane” quilt several years ago, and joined in numerous Yahoo swaps!  What a treasure all of these quilts will be!  Swappers are from all over the States, and from multiple countries.

897 UFO’s to go…

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Christmas “Dear Jane” swap finished!”

  1. treadlemusic Says:

    That is a very cool little quilt. Really like the quilting I see in the borders! Haven’t done a ‘Dear Jane’ yet, too many other projects in the works………

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      It’s good I did it when I did… There aren’t enough hours in the day to do all the things I’m trying to get done. I need to rig a sewing machine up in my minivan… LOL!

  2. Silvana Pereira Coutinho Says:

    This is really gorgeous!! You are inspiring me to finish my UFOs!

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Thanks Sil! It’s a project we’re doing in one of my guilds… Otherwise, I’d still have them in the UFO pile! LOL! (I have to give up a fat quarter if I don’t get them done…)

Leave a Reply

