“Hawaiian Eye Candy”

Re-visiting an old theme! by ruthiequilts
Re-visiting an old theme!, a photo by ruthiequilts on Flickr.

This is my entry in the Weekly Themed Contest…  This weeks theme is Beach and Seashore!  I took this little quilt off the wall that I made back in October of 2012.  I thought it fit the theme perfectly!

I made this in the 6-12 inch trading swap, (now known as MQTS) over on flickr. The flowers were taken from a floral lei I bought at a party store, and embellished with beads and Swarovski crystals. The beach sand is stitched with shell buttons, and the floor of the ocean is covered in coarse shell beads with eyelash yarn seaweed. There are beads and sequins tangled in the seaweed.

The fish are painted on with metallic orange and yellow fabric paint, and lined with metallic thread. The sea turtle is appliqued with the feet, head and tail painted one, again using gold fabric paint. The bubbles from the fish are iron-on crystals. I love me some bling!!!

Voting starts on Friday! Come vote for my little quilt if you like it!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 Responses to ““Hawaiian Eye Candy””

  1. Cindy Sharp Says:

    I surely will.

  2. treadlemusic Says:

    You ARE the clever/creative one…..love your imagination!!!

Leave a Reply

