Quilting Under the Influence…

Late night fmq... by ruthiequilts
Late night fmq…, a photo by ruthiequilts on Flickr.

First of all, if this topic is offensive to anyone, you have my apologies… Please visit one of my other stories!

Back when I  started fmq’ing (free motion quilting) I would have achy, sore shoulders, as I hunched over my sewing machine. Most of the time I stuck to grid quilting with my walking foot. (Still suffering from sore achy shoulders!)

As the years progressed, I found that if I have a glass or 2 of wine as I’m working, I loosen up and am not so tense. When I say a glass or two, that really is a fine balance!  A little too much, and you could sew through your finger.  Ouch.  Yes, I have done that!  Not quite enough, and you go back to sore, achy shoulders.  And for me, herky jerky stitching.

I normally don’t encourage vices, but this is the one time where quilting under the influence can be a helpful thing!  I would suggest setting your glass of wine on a separate table so you don’t spill it on your project!  That would be tragic!  And I like to use a coffee cup, or heck, a tumbler rather than a wine glass.  If you ask me, wine glasses were designed to be spilled.  If you’re drinking from a plastic tumbler, I’d limit myself to 1 “glass”!  LOL!

It gives a whole new meaning to “happy hour” when you’re quilting!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Quilting Under the Influence…”

  1. Cindy Sharp Says:

    I’ve often suspected that being a little tipsy helps when quilting.

  2. treadlemusic Says:

    You are not alone in having that glass of wine to relax a bit for FMQ. Muscles that are tight/tense are the worst…..during the process AND after!!!! Besides, it has been ‘proven’ that a glass of wine, on occasion, is actually good for a person!!!! Enjoy! Hugs, D

  3. Sarah Cooper Says:

    Ah, a technique I haven’t tried yet! 😀

  4. soma1773 Says:

    One evening after a long day, I was having a lot of trouble with my violin, then my husband handed me a Manhattan and told me to take a sip or two. First I was doubtful, then I had the best practice in several weeks. So I don’t doubt for a moment that wine would help with FMQ, I would try with a Manhattan though 🙂

Leave a Reply

