Sunflower Stained Glass…

Sunflower Stained Glass... by ruthiequilts
Sunflower Stained Glass…, a photo by ruthiequilts on Flickr.

This is the bitty block (3 inches finished) that I made for Bouncypoodle in the Bitty Block Bee… She asked for sunflowers, and had a gallery that included stained glass images… So I thought what better than that?!

I still have to work on this technique a little… A couple of my bias strips weren’t completely covered when I added the top strips. Hopefully I can use a black micron to make any grey threads black so it doesn’t show up as much!  I used a 1/4 inch bias strip maker, and then folded that in half to make the bias strips 1/8th of an inch.  For a project this size, I needed them to be tiny!

I designed it myself using stained glass patterns as inspiration!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

17 Responses to “Sunflower Stained Glass…”

  1. pillowsalamode Says:

    I really love this idea!!! I’m not a quilter, but maybe I can try it on a pillow design somehow. If I do, I’ll link back to your post! 🙂

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      I used fusible for the green and the brown and did them in blocks of color. (The yellow was all one piece, the green was one piece, and the brown was one piece.) I made bias strip which you could buy! (Or invest in the bias strip maker that you can run through with your iron and make your own!) Then you can add fusible strips to the back of your bias tape and iron it all in place. Mine was small enough that I just stitched them in place as I went!

  2. TextileRanger Says:

    I would have never realized it was just three pieces of fabric under the outlines! Great design!

  3. Cindy Sharp Says:

    Awesome!

  4. soma1773 Says:

    This is so beautiful, Ruth! Thank you for the tips on how to do it. I will have to try this since I love stained glass. Your piece is absolutely lovely, I love the colors!

  5. KurtzCrafts Says:

    So beautiful, I am in awe!

  6. quirkygranolagirl Says:

    you and your bitty blocks are astounding. i can’t believe how much detail you fit in a 3″ block.
    thank you for your comments on my blog 🙂

  7. wordpressreport Says:

    Reblogged this on WordPress Report.

Leave a Reply

