“Batty About Halloween”

Woo Hoo!  It’s here!  October 1st, 2012…  Day 1 of the Halloween Blog Hop, “Something Wicked This Way Comes”, hosted by Whims and Fancies!  Thanks for inviting me Soma!

I’m just “batty” about Halloween, so what better pattern than a batty bat!  And who doesn’t love candy corns?  (I have to admit that I don’t eat them, but they are so darn cute!)  I thought you might enjoy meeting me, so here I am!  Hi everyone!  (Waving madly!!!)

Just in case we have anyone who is new to paper piecing, I thought I’d leave it to the expert for paper piecing instructions!  Here’s Sewhooked’s tute for paper piecing:  http://sewhooked.com/2008/10/28/paper-piecing-step-by-step/  (Thanks for allowing me to share your link!)  I’ve been a fan of Jennifer for many years, and she is one of our designers!  Lucky us!

Here are the 4 pages of patterns that I have made up for you!  I have them in pdf format now, so they should print up better!

Page 1  https://ruthiequilts.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/page-1-batty1.pdf

Page 2  https://ruthiequilts.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/page-2-batty.pdf

Page 3 https://ruthiequilts.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/page-3-batty.pdf

Page 4  https://ruthiequilts.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/page-4-batty.pdf

Use the line drawing as a guide to help you put your paper pieced sections together…  When you have finished paper piecing your sections and joining them into a block, it’s time to decorate them!  For the eyes and fangs, I used fabric paint that requires heat setting to make it permanent on fabric.  (Heat setting is ironing after 24 hours of letting it dry.  You need to iron the front and the back of the painted areas.)  I used buttons for the pupils, and embroidery (stem stitch) for the bony hands, feet, mouth, and hair.  I also used the stem stitch for the candy cane hangers.  I used a little circle of wool (I prefer a wool fabric to wool felt as it holds up better overtime…) for the nose.

I hope you all enjoy making my Halloween Bat!!!  Thanks for playing!  Let me know if you make him!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

39 Responses to ““Batty About Halloween””

  1. KJ Says:

    What a fabulous start to the blog hop. Well done. Soooo cute.

  2. Patricia L. Says:

    Very Cute!

  3. patricia Says:

    I am batty for Halloween, too! Thank you for this fabulous block.

  4. treadlemusic Says:

    You are so funny! I remember your previous posts at this time of year and your oh so cute creations……..they/you make me smile;-D

  5. Jane Says:

    Your bat is so cute…I really like him. Thank you for the extra tips on paper piecing, I will post on the 14th, and this is only my second time I did this. There are so many neat quilts and things to make with paper piecing, so I really want to master this.

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Thanks Jane! I’m an old hat at paper piecing, but I’m lazy! I figured Jennifer (Sewhooked) would show people the “good” way to do it! (We won’t talk about how many times I’ve had to fudge because I guessed wrong!)

  6. soma1773 Says:

    Nicely done, Ruth 🙂

  7. Jennifer Ofenstein Says:

    Super cute!

  8. Halloween Paper Pieced Blog Hop – ARRR! | Whims And Fancies Says:

    […] 1. Ruth Davis, Ruthie quilts! And quilts… – Batty For Halloween […]

  9. Sally Says:

    Wow, what a great start to this! Batty is wonderful, thank you

  10. shirley tener Says:

    funny, and cute

  11. Susan Hales Says:

    I found you Ruth ,very cute . Thanks

  12. Judith Handmade Treasures Says:

    What a wonderful start for October. Just in time for me to sewing. Thanks for sharing…Judith, Texas

  13. cindy Says:

    Adorable! I love your batty block!

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Thanks you Cindy! I liked him so much, I’ve made him for 2 different swaps… 12- 3 inch ones, 6- 9 inch ones, and then the 10 incher for the Halloween Blog Hop!

  14. Sandy in Buenos Aires Says:

    He’s jsut sooo CUTE to the bones !!! I LOVE it, Ruthie !!! I can’t wait to sew all the blocks together, they’ll make an AMAZING Halloween quilt !!!

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      You and me both! I need to get some more “tie together” fabrics so they’ll look great! I’m thinking of using black sashing… (That is if I get them done!)

  15. Janine Says:

    This is a wonderful pattern!

  16. Denise Thalman Says:

    What a cute pattern, I guess it would really take someone pretty batty to wear that hat, LOL. Thanks for all your hard work. You know that I love you hahahahahahaha

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Whatever are you referring to, hmmmm?! LOL! You crack me up Denise! That’s the hat I was going to wear to Roy guild… Maybe it’s a good thing I forgot, eh? Maybe I’ll wear it to Layton… Bwahahahaha…

  17. Halloween Paper Pieced Blog Hop – Frankie’s Boy | Whims And Fancies Says:

    […] 1. Ruth Davis, Ruthie quilts! And quilts… – Batty For Halloween […]

Leave a Reply

