Fall Hike up Ben Lomond Trailhead…

Fall Hike up Ben Lomond Trailhead... by ruthiequilts
Fall Hike up Ben Lomond Trailhead…, a photo by ruthiequilts on Flickr.

Gorgeous hike today! We didn’t make it up to the top of Ben Lomond, but we did go about 4 miles give or take…

At one point, I was well ahead of my family, and my thoughts turned to occasional mountain lion attack this time of year… I was watching the ground closely as I am a klutz and tend to fall easily. As I continued along the trail, I glanced up occasionally to make sure a mountain lion wasn’t gazing at dinner.

All of a sudden, I came to an abrupt halt! Eek! It must be a mountain lion! I stopped so forcefully that I spun to my side and fell down-hill into the scrub oak on my derriere. In fear, I looked behind me to see why I had fallen…

One of my hip pack straps had gotten caught on a branch and stopped me cold! LOL! No mountain lion attack!

Along the way, we saw some shale. I was talking to my son about how “a long time ago” kids in school learned to write on slate which was very similar to shale. He asked, “Is that what you wrote on when you were a kid?”

Humph!

I hope you all enjoyed my little trek through the woods today! Thanks for visiting!

10 Responses to “Fall Hike up Ben Lomond Trailhead…”

  1. carla bynum Says:

    Hi!!! Beautiful pic!!!!! So glad it wasn’t a mountain lion!!! The clumsy gene runs in the women in my family!!!!

  2. treadlemusic Says:

    And this is what memories are made of!!!! Hehe!

  3. soma1773 Says:

    Yikes! I am glad you didn’t get hurt and enjoyed the hike! Beautiful photo, looks like a beautiful trail!

  4. Susan Hales Says:

    Ruth our oldest daughter asked me what the dinosaurs really looked like when she was about 5 years old . Glad you weren’t someones dinner !

Leave a Reply

