“Seasons” Mini QT Swap quilt for Sandy!

"Seasons" Mini QT Swap quilt for  Sandy! by ruthiequilts
“Seasons” Mini QT Swap quilt for Sandy!, a photo by ruthiequilts on Flickr.

Sandy received this, so I can show it at last! It took almost a month to get there, and the package had been ripped. It was in a plastic bag with a “sorry” letter from the PO. Sandy lives in Buenos Aires, so the mail tends to take awhile anyway, but it was getting scary! LOL!

Sandy and I decided to do all 4 seasons in the MQTS swap on flickr… I decided to do fusible applique as paper piecing was giving me fits! (Not sure what was up with that! LOL!) I used a lot of Colonial knots, which seem to work better for me than French knots. The blossoms are knots, the apples are knots, and the piled snow is painted with knots! I used a Nylon YLI thread for stitching the fusibles and quilting. Each season is quilted differently to represent the weather!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to ““Seasons” Mini QT Swap quilt for Sandy!”

  1. treadlemusic Says:

    That is really cool! I can imagine how concerned you were getting!! Glad it got there…..and with an apology no less!

  2. Carol mcdowell Says:

    Awesome quilt! do they have 4 seasons in buenos aires?
    She must have blown away when she received this beautiful work of art.

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Thank you Carol! I have no idea whether Buenos Aires has 4 seasons, but Sandy and I like a lot of the same things! LOL! She said that winter was her favorite! (I think it’s the snowman!)

  3. soma1773 Says:

    It is gorgeous!! You did such a great job representing the seasons with Earth in the center. I LOVE it, Ruth!
    Now I need to get back to my four seasons quilt. Thank you for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

