Spring Fling Blog Hop 2013!

Spring Fling Blog Hop 2013! by ruthiequilts
Spring Fling Blog Hop 2013!, a photo by ruthiequilts on Flickr.

Hi Everyone!  Welcome to Ruthiequilts!  And quilts…  Because that’s what I do!  LOL!   Thanks to my friend Soma at Whims and Fancies for hosting this fabulous Blog Hop!!!  You can find a link to her blog here: http://www.whimsandfancies.com/category/spring-fling/

I am so excited to share my bunny pattern with you!  I’ll admit it isn’t for the faint of heart, but if you’re comfortable with paper piecing, it is definitely fun to do!

Cover page:  https://ruthiequilts.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/spring-bunny-cover-page-001-e1364862412252.jpg

Page 1: https://ruthiequilts.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/spring-bunny-pattern-page-1-001-e1364862448404.jpg

Page 2: https://ruthiequilts.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/spring-bunny-page-2-001-e1364862475783.jpg

There are many different techniques for doing paper piecing…  I like the pattern pieces to be cut without the ¼ inch seam allowances.  This makes it so I don’t have to tear paper out of the seam.  (Just be sure to add ¼ inch or slightly larger around all edges!)

There are ways to use less fabric when paper piecing, but I find I’d rather cut a little bigger than worry about whether my piece is going to fit perfectly or not.

Without further ado, here are the steps for the Bunny in Spring pattern!

Step 1- Stitch fabric to back side of patterns in order noted until all pieces are stitched.

Step 2- Join A-B, C-D, then AB unit to CD unit.  Join E-F-G-H-I.  Add J.  Join K-L-M and add to main bunny piece.

Step 3- Join flower pieces, N-O, then join to bunny piece.

Step 4- Add P to bunny/flower piece.

Step 5- Prepare “Spring” pieces.  Join R-S, add Q on the end.  Join QRS unit to T.  Join U-V.  Add to QRST unit.  Join QRSTUV unit to W.  Join X-Y.  Add to QRSTUVW unit.  Add Z piece to end.

Step 6- Add AA piece to bottom of “Spring” section.  Stitch spring onto bottom of bunny/flower section and you are finished!!!

Thanks for joining me in the Spring Fling Blog Hop!  Stop by anytime!  I’m always stitching something fun!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

34 Responses to “Spring Fling Blog Hop 2013!”

  1. Lydia Says:

    I don’t see a link to the Bunny pattern…am i missing something??

  2. cindy Says:

    Adorable block! I love it!

  3. FlossieBlossoms Says:

    This is a great block, but can you do it in 3″? LOLOLOL

    Seriously, I love this Ruthie! It’s just wonderful and so generous of you to make it available to all of us! Thank you!

  4. Spring Fling Blog Hop – Bunny In Spring | Whims And Fancies Says:

    […] from Ruthie quilts! And quilts… made this darling little Bunny In Spring for us.  Lets blog hop over there to met […]

  5. soma1773 Says:

    I LOVE this block Ruth! He is such a sweetheart! Thank you so much for making him 🙂

  6. Carol Says:

    Such a cute bunny! Thank you for sharing him with us. :O)

  7. Marian Says:

    Love it, thank you so much!!

  8. Karen Porter Says:

    What a perfect little block to capture the spirit of the spring fling. Thank you so much for sharing your talent with us.

  9. Lou Says:

    Adorable!!!!! May have to start a new project now:)

  10. LJ Says:

    Thanks an adorable block but too scarey for me, yet. You are a pro and an artist.

  11. Nancy Says:

    Thank you for sharing this cute bunny pattern. Looking forward to trying it.

  12. Linda J Says:

    This is adorable!

  13. lynninflorida Says:

    Just too adorable!!!!!

  14. Susan Says:

    I think this is a cute bunny and I like the tulip that he is about to eat.

  15. Margaret Andrews Says:

    Hi Ruth,
    I love the bunny, but would like to print it out bigger…when I print the page it all fits on 1/2 page. How do I make it larger? I know it is simple, but I guess I am simple minded and can’t figure it out.

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Ack! Try R clicking, then Save as… Open it as a document and I think it will print out the right size! I only say “Ack” because I struggle with how to work the dang thing myself! LOL!

  16. Margaret Andrews Says:

    Thank you…it worked. I didn’t right click as I am on a MacBook Pro and I don’t know how to do that but I just hit save as and it seemed to work…not sure why, or if I could do it again but I printed out two and that should be okay. Thanks.

  17. Carolyn Howland Says:

    I love your spring bunny, great work.

  18. Isn’t This Just Awesome!! | Seams To Be Sew Says:

    […] 3, 2013, gave us Ruthie’s very cute Bunnies In Spring block. That bunny looks so realistic, the fabric is perfect for […]

Leave a Reply

