Ode to two Sues and a Ruth…

I used to hang with my BFF’s Sue, and Sue.  I called us 2 Sues and a Ruth.  Well…  It works!  LOL!  Sue B. taught Sue D.  how to make cold process soap.  Sue D. taught me!  It’s science in action!  ???????????????????????????????

Safety first!  (I know…  Ever so attractive look…)

I used green tea as my base fluid, adding lye, and then my melted oils, (coconut, palm kernal, castor, and olive). ??????????????????????????????? It never traced (kind of like whip cream when it starts to hold it’s form), but it still came out just the same.  I’ve only had one batch that required re-stirring the next day.

IMG_1362

???????????????????????????????IMG_1366

And here are the finished bars!  (I dumped 2 of them into the weeds on the way to their photo shoot, so they got cleaned and squooshed into soap balls!  LOL!)

Thanks for joining me!!!  (And thanks to my BFF’s who live waaaaay too far away!   Miss you both!  XOXO)

Tags: , ,

12 Responses to “Ode to two Sues and a Ruth…”

  1. Sue Says:

    I think about the 3 of us every time I make soap too! Did you drink wine while you stirred?? You know, it is the secret of it’s success. At least that is what Sue B always said!

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      LOL! No, I did it sober… Afraid I’d screw up the lye-liquid part if I didn’t concentrate! I want to make some with buttermilk next! I think about you guys every time I make it too! XOXO

  2. treadlemusic Says:

    Always on the move, eh?? The soaps look wonderful and I know there’s nothing like homemade/handmade soap. Hugs…….

  3. lovelydeer Says:

    Love home made soap!

  4. soma1773 Says:

    Hey, I make cold pour soap too!! I love it! You should get rubber stamps and stamp them when they are still soft!

    Soma

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Ooh… I have rubber stamps… I’m making a buttermilk batch right now! Waiting for the temps to get to 100 and then I’ll join my oil and lye mixture… I’ll do that in the morning! Great idea! That’s awesome that you make it too!

Leave a Reply

