Utah Quilt Festival~ 2013!

At Utah Quilt Festival in Midway Utah with Quiltscapes... by ruthiequilts
At Utah Quilt Festival in Midway Utah with Quiltscapes…, a photo by ruthiequilts on Flickr.

I had the most fabulous time this past week! I was able to attend Utah Quilt Guilds’ Annual Meeting held in Midway, Utah at the Zermatt Resort…  What a gorgeous venue!  Here I am pictured one the left with one of my online friends, Deonn (aka Quiltscapes).  She was even sweeter in person than online!  And so creative!!!  I’ll have to show you some of her pinnies as soon as I make them!  LOL!  ???????????????????????????????

My roomies and I ate out for lunch before our 4th roommate, Heidi arrived.  The food was delicious, and the company, a bit crazy!  LOL!  Patsy, me, and Leslie!  Yup.  We’re as crazy as we look…

IMG_1566

I only took 1 class as I didn’t want to end up with several UFO’s…  I always love a good piece of handwork, so I took a Hawaiian applique class.  It was a lot of fun!  The teachers gave us a lot of history about Hawaiian applique, the traditions behind the designs, and numerous resources.  Guess which one was mine?  LOL!  Yup…  That bright pink and aqua one.  I did my own pattern, and I wish I would have stuck with a traditional pattern in the bright.  Live and learn!IMG_1573

My friends and I went out to dinner at “Z”s.  The food was fancy schmancy and I was a fish out of water!  LOL!  (My plate was a work of art though…)  And it was delicious!!!  I could live this lifestyle!  🙂

???????????????????????????????

Here are my friends that I went to dinner with…  (Heidi wasn’t with us here.  She was our other roommate.)  From left to right-  Karen, Leslie, Denise, and Patsy.  Me in the front!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1632

 

This is the Zermatt Resort where we stayed…  First class accommodations!  IMG_1583

Here’s a little close-up from the quilt show.  The quilting on this was amazing!  Be still my heart…  I test drove some long arm machines, but would have to give up a kidney to get one.IMG_1599

For one of the luncheons, we got to sit at the table with Kim Diehl, one of the premier quilt designers in the business!!!  What an honor!  She is so funny!  Her “sensible” shoes, are high heels that are only 4 inches instead of 6.  My friends and I are BIG fans!

I wish you all could have joined me!  It was an awesome time of renewing my batteries and surrounding myself with all things quilting!  Thanks for visiting!!!

Tags: , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Utah Quilt Festival~ 2013!”

  1. treadlemusic Says:

    Oh…..thank you so much for the glimpse into your wonderful time! It looks like it was just what any quilter would dream of…..that resort is beautiful as is the quilt!! Hugs………

  2. Silvana Pereira Coutinho Says:

    Ohhhh! I can imagine how much was funny this meeting!! I hope one day me and you will have an opportunity to have a meeting too!

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      That would be awesome Sil!!! If you’re ever in the area it’s a definite plan! I’d even go to Yellowstone park if you wanted to work it in… 🙂 (Bribe her with an awesome place…) Or Arches National Park… Or Canyonlands… Lots of choices around here…

  3. soma1773 Says:

    I am really glad you had so much fun! The food and the quilts looks fantastic. Above all, you look amazing in those photos, Ruth, specially your bright smile 🙂

    Love
    -Soma

Leave a Reply

