Mini whole cloth play…

IMG_4130

One of my facebook friends showed a picture of a beautiful quilt she had made.  I had to give it a try!  She machine quilted a whole cloth quilt and then painted in the un-quilted areas…  It was a stunning effect! Here is the start of my attempt.

First I had to come up with a pattern to quilt.  I used some freezer paper making a snow flake like motif and ironed it onto a piece of plain white fabric.

I had drawn 2 outer circles using pan lids as my marking motifs.  I centered the snowflake in the circles and continued to quilt…  I waited until the piece was

finished before snipping the threads so I could stitch them back into the quilt sandwich.IMG_4131Now the fun part!  I used micro McTavishing to fill in the space between the marked spots.???????????????????????????????Last but not least, here is the finished piece!  This was a lot of fun, although it took me about 8 hours to quilt it.  It measures approximately 8 X 11 inches…

All of the open areas will be painted when it’s done.  I love the way it came out and I see a big whole cloth quilt in my future…

Thanks for visiting!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Mini whole cloth play…”

  1. Doreen Says:

    Awesome idea!!!! What paints will you be using??? Whole cloth ideas have been swirling in my head since I recently completed the silk challenge whole cloth last month!!! Love your (so far) finish!!!!!!

  2. Beezus Says:

    This is already stunning! I’d love to give this a try sometime in the future.

  3. marjorie Says:

    wow beautiful!

  4. soma1773 Says:

    It looks beautiful already! Can’t wait to see how you paint this.

    -Soma xx

  5. cloudcoucou Says:

    Beautiful, I’m looking forward to seeing it finished. Would love to try painting fabric!

Leave a Reply

