Power of 13 Swap!

Hi everyone!  Sorry I’ve been gone for a bit…  I had a family reunion and then we went camping!  More to come on these activities later…

First, I wanted to share a little something that I made for a Challenge Quilt for Roy Quilt Guild in 2013.  The theme was “The Power of 13”.Power of 13 Challenge QuiltThis was my challenge quilt…  Using math (*gasp*) I came up with the pattern for 13 spikes on my wheel.  The center circle is 13 inches across.  There are 26 (13 x’s 2) buttons, 13 rouched roses, 13 shells, and 13 of each type of leaf.  13 lace flowers, 13 yo yo flowers, 13 prairie points on each of the spikes.  And I quilted “13” on the R hand side.  LOL!  One of my Aunts, (thanks Elaine for the picture!!!) saw it at the reunion that year and agreed to a swap with me.  She makes the most beautiful hand carved gourds and eggs!  IMG_4269This is the most incredible work of art that I received in return from her!  It has 13 trees, each with 13 leaves/blossoms etc. on them!  The carving that she does in these gourds is just stunning.  Being that they’re fragile, she can put in numerous hours in one piece only to have it break near the end after all the cuts are made.  This picture doesn’t do it justice, but I had to share the story!

Thanks Aunt Elaine!!!

IMG_4272Two of my favorite ladies!!!  XOXO Ruth

Thanks for stopping by!  (I’ll be posting more shortly!)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Power of 13 Swap!”

  1. treadlemusic Says:

    Gorgeous!!!!!!!!

  2. soma1773 Says:

    Really beautiful!! Both arts AND the ladies 🙂

    -Soma

  3. Garden Warfare Says:

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after going
    through some of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m certainly delighted I came across it
    and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

