Roy Quilt Guild Challenge…

IMG_0159I belong to 3 quilt guilds.  Two local and one state.  Roy Quilt Guild had a challenge to incorporate fabrics and embellishments into a quilted “item”.

We also had to incorporate something new we used on our items.  I have done a whole bunch of experimenting so I struggled to come up with something new.   Then

I thought, “I’ve never marked a quilt prior to quilting it…”  That was my new technique!

It didn’t have to specifically be a quilt.  This is the wall hanging that I designed.  I used a block technique that I had seen on facebook, and arranged them on-point.IMG_0151The center four star blocks are part of a 9 patch, while the outer 4 star blocks had setting triangles on either side which make up the center square.  Then I added larger triangles to all 4 sides to get that square overlay look…  (Plus a nice big open space to feature the quilting!)

Then I had to add embellishments.IMG_0153I took 2 different silk flowers and cut them in half to make up each flower unit.  Used the gold netting that was a challenge fabric and made it into a center

“poof”, then finishing up with beads.  In the center, I used shells and a button.  This was a fun challenge!  Results of the challenge coming up later…

Thanks for stopping by!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Roy Quilt Guild Challenge…”

  1. dawnmariew19 Says:

    It is really beautiful. Love the colors. 🙂

  2. Deonn Says:

    This is a winner, Ruthie! Is that the disappearing hourglass? Your quilting is phenomenal – very worth all the effort to pre-mark the quilting lines. And what fun embellishments! Yep. I’ll be surprised if this does not take the prize!

  3. soma1773 Says:

    This is so stunning!! It’s gorgeous, Ruth!! Love the layout, the points, the flowers, the quilting, everything!!! It’s definitely one of my favourites made by you!!

    Hugs,
    -Soma

  4. Tammi Kale Says:

    Beautiful quilting!

Leave a Reply

