What I’ve been working on…

IMG_0236

“Me-ow…”

I had to start with a close-up of Poukie…  He approves of this quilt!  LOL!

IMG_0229In the BBC we are trading 3 inch whole cloth hand quilted blocks…  No idea how I’m going to put these together!  I have to make 9 or 10.  I don’t remember which…

IMG_0231And here is what I decided to do with half of my Disappearing Hourglass Blocks.  I wanted some big spaces to quilt in, and I think this fits the bill!

I may try to do show quality quilting and see if I’ve improved…  (Although marking a quilt this big is a daunting task to say the least!)

More to come when I get the rest together.  Then I have to get the Disappearing Pin Wheels done…

Thanks for visiting!

Tags: , , , ,

15 Responses to “What I’ve been working on…”

  1. treadlemusic Says:

    Love this and you are brilliant in the use of the block pattern. I decided to do the pinwheel variations in red/white (my post late Monday). I’ve always wanted to do a red/white and this fit the bill. The hourglass version is one I decided to do over the weekend!! Now to find the time!! Hope your b’day was a special one! Am really looking forward to your thoughts on designs for yours! Hugs……

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Thanks Doreen! I’m thinking feathers through the colorful star areas, and who knows what else! I have to get it pin basted (and of course I need a backing) first…

      • treadlemusic Says:

        I’m using bleached muslin for the backings to both quilts. I’ve had really great results with it. Not sure of stitching motifs, though. Your ideas sound really good. Lots of open spaces to be creative!!!!

      • ruthiequilts Says:

        My friend who has a long arm is going to baste it for me so I don’t have to mess with that aspect… I think I’ll enjoy it more that way!

      • treadlemusic Says:

        It certainly will speed your process along a bit! I really love the Sharon Schamber method of basting (pins for me). While pinning I have a chance to really look at the top and formulate my “plan of attack” with the quilting!!!!

      • ruthiequilts Says:

        Good idea! Other than the feathers, I still have no idea!

  2. treadlemusic Says:

    A side note…..this pattern is similar to the “Hunter’s Star”. Love your color choices!!!

  3. laflor5233 Says:

    Very pretty, looks like a lot of hard work.

  4. soma1773 Says:

    Poukie found the perfect modelling backdrop. The quilt looks beautiful already Ruth and I know it will look even more stunning when you finish quilting it.

    -Soma

  5. Rachel Says:

    I love this quilt! I found you today when I went looking for disappearing hourglass blocks. Just lovely! Lots of space for some great quilting!

Leave a Reply

