Around The World Blog Hop!

Hi everyone! I am so excited that my friend Soma from Whims and Fancies asked me to participate in the Around The World Blog Hop!
Those of you who follow my blog know that I’m always working on something fun! And quite often “secret” as I love to swap online and share teasers of projects that I’m preparing to send…  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get any bloggers to follow me.  They had either participated already, or had prior obligations.

I have numerous things that I love to do… These include, but are not limited to paper piecing, machine quilting on my Bernina 440, designing paper piecing patterns, visiting the bird sanctuary, making cold process soap, and baking.

My creative process often begins with a simple idea… I jot it down with my trusty mechanical pencil onto graph paper! Then I decide where I want to make my “fractures”. I like to keep my patterns as simple as possible, and often find myself changing the patterns as I cut them up. My initial patterns are ugly with lots of scribbles. Sometimes as designers, we can’t see the simplification until stepping away from it for a while and looking on it with new eyes.
I consider quilting/crafting, etc as my stress outlet…

My paper piecing patterns often incorporate embroidery and embellishments to give character to the blocks. And I find myself designing more blocks than I do quilts!
I am so inspired by the works of art that I see in blog posts, Facebook, and Pinterest! I can’t remember what it was like before we had the digital medium…

Thanks so much for visiting, and feel free to follow my blog!

Here are some of the fun things I’m working on…

IMG_4247I needed a wedding gift for a dear friend.  I used a precut mat, and covered it with a quilted piece.

IMG_4250Here’s the finished project!

IMG_0655In the Roy Quilt Guild, we made Bingo blocks.  They gave me a second set to put together so this is what I did with them:

IMG_0656And then…

IMG_0660More coming soon!  Please feel free to join in the fun!

Leave a Reply

