A friends quilt…

My friend just gave me this little baby quilt to FMQ for her new grand baby due in a few weeks…  I love the traditional feeling of this one, and really wanted to quilt it as it would have been done hand quilted.

I followed the checkerboard pattern using a feather stitch and filled it in with a grid background.  IMG_1170There has to be an easier way to do it, but I haven’t found it yet!  LOL!  I used strips of tape to mark it with.  (The last grid quilting I did bled when I spritzed out the markings…)  I surrounded the center section with my least favorite motif, meander.  (I’m not terribly comfortable with it!)

I used a pebble stitch in the narrow yellow sashing.  Then I finished it up with a leaf motif along the edges, and a floral along the top and bottom sections.

IMG_1164

IMG_1172Here’s a picture of the back…

???????????????????????????????The whole thing…  I love the use of 30’s fabric in this, and I really enjoyed quilting it!

Thanks for stopping  by!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “A friends quilt…”

  1. adaisygarden Says:

    So pretty!

  2. wombatquilts Says:

    So charming. Nice job.

  3. laflor5233 Says:

    Love the vintage look.

Leave a Reply

