Wonky Houses Published!

I’ve been sitting on an exciting bit of news since September…  My friend, Silvana Pereira Coutinho and I swapped wonky house blocks a couple of years ago.  We each made a block for ourselves and each other and traded them via mail.  At the end of 1 year, we had 24 blocks.  (Silvana lives in Brazil.)  I have to say how much I love the opportunity to meet new friends all around the world through the digital medium!  Thanks for participating in this with me Silvana!  You are an awesome friend and designer!

I made mine into a quilt which was in works to be published in NQA’s “The Quilting Quarterly”. I am so excited as I received my contributor copy yesterday!!!  A special “Thanks” goes out to the Editor, Barbara Polston and of course Silvana!  It is an awesome Issue too…  It features some wonderful mini quilts and mini quilt artists.  It is the Winter 2014 issue, Volume 43 Number 4 #173. If you’d like to order a copy, you can visit their site at http://www.nqaquilts.org

IMG_1334

I think in celebration, I am going to give away a signed copy to someone who leaves a comment on this blogpost!  Now, in all fairness, I have to warn you that I am technology challenged.  I do it the old fashioned way.  I put everyone’s names into a basket and have my son draw the winner.  (Of which I take pictures…)  If you would like to be in the drawing, leave me a comment and a way that I can get in touch with you…  (Or you can check back when I post the winner on December 20th)  That gives you a whole week!

IMG_1331Be sure to leave a comment if you want a chance to win a copy!  I’ll announce the winner in 1 week…

Thanks for visiting, and celebrating mine and Silvana’s publication!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

70 Responses to “Wonky Houses Published!”

  1. Susan Hales Says:

    Pick me !!!! Pick me !!! ❤

  2. Phyllis Davis Says:

    I had seen a picture of this quilt before and loved it! Congratulations on being published in the “Quiting Quartery”! I am keeping my fingers crossed for the drawing. 🙂

  3. cat stone Says:

    Fantastic quilt! I’d love to see your pattern in the magazine. I’m not a member of NQA so don’t hold out much hope though.

  4. Phyllis Davis Says:

    Make that “Quilting Quarterly”! :/

  5. Darlington Delights Says:

    I love wonky houses! Yrs are especially beautiful! Congrats!

  6. Sue Smacher Says:

    The wonky book looks interesting. I just made recently a wonky 9 patch. I look forward for a chance to win a copy of this book

  7. Colleen RC Harris Says:

    This is so wonderful. I’m going to have so much fun creating.

  8. Maria Says:

    Congrats to you, Miss Ruth!

  9. Shelley Says:

    I love this quilt! I made a similar one with a boat house and tree house.

  10. Silvana Pereira Coutinho Says:

    Ohhh!! Ohhh!! This is more beautiful!
    the real quilt and the published one together!!
    Congratulations, Ruthie!! Your work is always perfect, creative and stunning!! I am sure that this is only the beginning of a successful quilting career!! And once again;: Thank you soooooo much for being my friend and partner!! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

  11. Maria Rita Contini Previtali Says:

    Ruthie gostaria de parabenizá-la pela oportunidade dada as amigas de outros Países de junto com seus trabalhos lindos poder mostrar os delas também . Parabenizo minha amiga Silvana , tão dedicada e com trabalhos lindos onde através deles expressa seu amor pela arte do Quilt . Vocês arrasaram nesse trabalho, ficou maravilhoso! São pessoas como vocês que me inspiram cada vez que olho seus trabalhos. Mais uma vez Parabéns !

  12. Marcia Says:

    Great jog Ruthie and Silvana! Congratulatios!

  13. Carol Says:

    I’ve come over from Silvana’s IG post. Love your wonky house quilt. We don’t have Quilting Quarterly in the UK so I would love to win ;0)

  14. Susan Mautte Says:

    I am so pleased for you and Sil, Ruthie, you are both amazing artists! I’d love a chance to win a SIGNED copy, but I’m going to join the guild so I’ll be sure to get all the issues with all the patterns. If I get signed up this week, I’ll let you know. Thanks and congrats again!

  15. Lori Burton Says:

    Newbie at quilting, would love to get a signed copy from an expert!

  16. Karen Doman Says:

    What a darling quilt! You are published twice now? Your so clever and creative I’m sure there will be more and other publications too.

  17. msminnesota Says:

    I absolutely love it! Congratulations on the magazine!

  18. Em Says:

    That is awesome. Love the quilt! So happy for you!

  19. Mary l graves Says:

    Love house quilts. Just finished one called The Sugar Shack. Love your quilt

  20. Destry Merritt Says:

    This is one of my favorite small quilts because of the originality and interest. So perfect for any age. You did a wonderful job. I love it!

  21. Jan Roberts Says:

    Congrats! You both do amazing work.

  22. Sandi H. Says:

    Congratulations Ruthie it is so fun to see your name published! I’d love to be a lucky winner of a copy of the magazine.

    Thanks for a chance to win it.

  23. treadlemusic Says:

    You know I am a total “fan” of yours and would love an AUTOGRAPHED copy!!!!! AND I might even get ‘hooked’ on those wonky’s!!!!!! Congratulations most definitely are in order!!!! You more than deserve it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hugs…………

  24. knitnkwilt Says:

    A delightful quilt. And isn’t it fun to be published?

  25. DEOLINDA Says:

    the quilt is beautiful!

  26. Mary Turner Says:

    I think your Wonky Houses are great. It fits my life style to a “T”. Also I am starting to teach my daughter and 2 granddaughters to sew and quilt. This would just be perfect to work on and they would be happy campers.
    Thanks
    Mary

  27. Diane Miller Says:

    You are so talented. I am so glad that you are now starting to get the recognition that you deserve, Great job, You go girl!!!!!

  28. Susie Cooper Says:

    Congratulations! Your quilt is so fresh and fun!

  29. Marjorie Nath Says:

    I would love to win a copy. Your quilt is so cute, I love wonky and that sort of describes me. I don’t have any quilt magazines because they don’t have them here in Mexico.

  30. Beth Strand Says:

    Congratulations!!!!

  31. Bonnie Miles Says:

    Oh my gosh ! What a cute quilt – and reminiscent of the class I taught last year at the Winter Quilt Retreat – with the same name. Lots of room for creative cutting and designing in THIS quilt. Good for you.

  32. sati singh Says:

    Very colorful and unique reminds me of the childhood stories mum read to us and the illustrations were just enchanting takes me back in time to dream again

  33. Pattij Says:

    This looks so amazing! Great job!

  34. Maria Wilson Says:

    Hi!!!

    I live in England and just love your wonky house quilt. I have been unable to get the pattern from the website link. Is there any way I could get it from you. I can PayPal you maybe? Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

