Time for a break?

As you can see, I didn’t achieve my goal to get this quilt done before the end of the year…  IMG_1543Stitching and stitching away…  I’ve used a double batt on this with the advice of my quilting friend, Patsy…  (She’s my local expert!)

The cotton batting stabilized the polyester so I won’t have as much problem with the dense quilting causing “waves”.  The looser quilted areas will have polyester batting creating more loft.

My quilt sandwich is as follows:  Backing~cotton batting~medium loft polyester batting~quilt top.  I pin basted prior to quilting.

I was sewing, and sewing, and sewing away on this…  With the extra batting, this quilt is heavier than I’m used to.  Sore shoulders, back, neck, and tri-ceps…  I had somewhere I needed to go, but couldn’t seem to stop quilting.  Until…

???????????????????????????????I guess this is as good a time as any!

And here’s a little exciting news…  I bought a mid-arm quilt machine!  Yay!  I’ll post more on it later.

Thanks for stopping by!  Stitch on!

Tags: , , , , ,

14 Responses to “Time for a break?”

  1. Maria Says:

    Congrats to you, Miss Ruth – I just got my long arm installed a couple of weeks ago and couldn’t be happier! 😃

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      How exciting Maria! I can’t wait to see your work! I would really love a long arm but I couldn’t afford it, nor do I have the room… I will get one someday!

  2. mandymunroe Says:

    Oh no – I hate when that happens lol! Your quilt is looking beautiful…and a new machine.. Happy New Year!

  3. treadlemusic Says:

    YOU DID WHAT!!!!!??????????? I’m over-the-moon excited for you!!!!!! C’mon………..don’t leave us hanging…………………..

  4. Sandi H. Says:

    Congruous tons on your news ourcase look forward to seeing how your present project looks when you get more thread to finish it off.

  5. Jane Victoria Says:

    Congrats on the new purchase! I think I’m going to do a lot of my quilts with double batting from now on, for the reasons you mentioned. Can’t wait to see this one finished.

  6. utahoosier Says:

    Can’t wait to see that mid-arm machine… and more importantly what you do with it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

