Back at the Bird Refuge…

IMG_1795You can’t go wrong with photos of reflections in the water…  At least that’s the way I see it!  LOL!

In the attempt to get ready for a retreat, I haven’t been sewing as much.

But I always love a nice drive to the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge outside of Brigham City!IMG_1822This is the closest we’ve ever gotten to the Tundra Swans.

They follow open water, and there doesn’t seem to be a lot available right now.

IMG_1850A female Harrier glides up as we watch the Tundra Swans on the other side of the road…

IMG_1871For a drab, gray day, I sure saw some beautiful scenery!

IMG_1889This one reminds me of a day at the beach!  A little nap while standing on one leg, sounds like something I would do!

IMG_1905And…  Just to throw a Bald Eagle into the mix…

IMG_1914These guys sure are impressive!

IMG_1943We looked this guy up in our Birding Book, and think he is a juvenile Bald Eagle…  He’s as big as a full grown Bald Eagle.

We thought maybe he was a Golden Eagle, but his coloring resembles a third year Bald Eagle as far as we can tell…

Thanks for stopping by!  I’ll be back with lots of fun stuff soon!

Tags: , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Back at the Bird Refuge…”

  1. Susan Hales Says:

    Thanks for the nice visit ….. ❤

  2. treadlemusic Says:

    I love it when the swans come through our area. The Mississippi River becomes white with them (in the back waters) as they fly through. Gorgeous!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!!

  3. knitnkwilt Says:

    Some great bird sightings! I’ve tried to see bald eagles, but they have hidden from me. I lived in Indiana near Jasper Pulaski Refuge where we could watch Sandhill Cranes though. something I miss now that I am no longer there.

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      We see Sandhill Cranes occasionally, but they’re pretty hard to get pictures of. (For me! LOL!) I bet you do miss it if you no longer live close. I had no idea we had a bird refuge like this one so close until we checked it out last year. I wasn’t interested in birding until we went!

  4. KerryCan Says:

    Such wonderful birds! And I agree about the scenery being beautiful–sometimes the drab days can surprise you!

  5. Sandi H. Says:

    Lovely photos Ruthie, I love the first one with the reflections and the touch of brown of the brush.

    It is also interesting to see the white to grey to blue transitions in your photos of the swans.

    I’m fortunate to have a pair of bald eagles living along the Fraser River where my condo is. They fly across to my side and perch on top of a hotel on the quay, always exciting to see him and her.

    Thanks for sharing the photos.

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Thank you Sandi! I’m glad you enjoyed them… I saw 4 Bald Eagles while driving home from Retreat today. Such impressive birds! (I envy you the view from your condo!) Thanks for visiting!!!

Leave a Reply

