Navajo Code Talkers class…

Several of my friends talked me into taking the Navajo Code talkers class with them while at the Winter Quilt Retreat at Bryce Canyon…  It was taught by the designer of the pattern, Norma Whaley!  It is a really neat quilt that incorporates the ideas of the Navajo Code Talkers.  It was a fun, (and a little rowdy for some 🙂 reason) productive class!  IMG_2132It was fun to see how different everybody’s interpretation of the theme was…

IMG_2129Jean’s are on the left, and Denise’s are the batiks on the right.  She’s our resident over-achiever!  LOL!

I can’t compete.  (Although I gave it my best shot!)

IMG_2131This is Patsy’s color way…

IMG_2128And ever the rebel, mine!

(Mine represents the turquoise and coral that the Native Americans use in their beautiful jewelry!)

Hope you don’t mind a double post today, but I have a lot of catching up to do!

Thanks for stopping by!

Tags: , , , , ,

16 Responses to “Navajo Code Talkers class…”

  1. Susan Hales Says:

  2. Susan Mautte Says:

    I like yours best of all. Tiny, bright petite blocks. Coincidence, we watched Windtalkers tonight.

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Aw schucks Sooz! You know me and bright colors… (It’s so funny that when I started swapping on flickr I didn’t like bright colors… My, how tastes can change!) I haven’t see Windtalkers… It sounds great!

  3. Karen Doman Says:

    Love them all. Now I have no doubt I want mine nontraditional.

  4. laflor5233 Says:

    Great work!

  5. suetanner64 Says:

    fantastic work

  6. Sandi H. Says:

    Turquoise all the way! Love it Ruthie.

  7. KerryCan Says:

    Wonderful idea for a challenge! I’d love to read more about how the code talkers get translated to fabric–do you have a link that would tell me more? The results are beautiful–I like your turquoise and red accents!

  8. Patsy Shelton Says:

    Loved the class…. loved the post & pictures… Notice I am sitting quietly at my machine!!! Not disrupting anyone!!! How did you manage to get that picture??? hahaha…I never sit quietly… Bryce was FUN!!!

Leave a Reply

