Mini QT Swap Folk Art Birds…

How’s that for a mouthful?!  But that’s what today’s post is all about!  What I sent, and what I received!

My partner, Mumziepooh, over on the MQTS site on flickr, both received our little quilties today!  Perfect timing!

The theme was “Folk Art” and I decided to do my same little bird pincushions on the Wooden Spools but used needle turned and freezer paper applique, in addition to bias strips made with bias strip makers…  (Love those things!)  IMG_2904Here are some close-ups of the embroidery on the birds…

IMG_2905I used bullion knots to edge the wing.  Then I used a stem stitch on the hair and tail feathers, and colonial knots to accent the stem stitches.  A simple seed stitching on the belly give this one 3 dimension.  And of course a little yellow chain stitch under the chin…

IMG_2906I edged the blue bird’s wing with x’s separated by colonial knots.  Again, stem stitching on the hairs and tail feathers, accentuated by colonial knots.  And the belly with the little seed stitches…

I prefer a Colonial knot to a French knot  as they seem to hold their shape better.

And then today this is what I received…???????????????????????????????My partner, Mumziepooh, aka Debbie made this little gem for me!  Isn’t it fantastic?!  She did some awesome embroidery!  Plus she added beads.  It is adorable!!!  I love receiving soft mail!!!  My mail lady is a quilter and I’m sure she has soft mail envy!

Thanks for visiting!

Shhh…  My secret project is being delivered to people in power this week!  Wish me luck!!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Mini QT Swap Folk Art Birds…”

  1. fromsomewherewithlovex Says:

    They are both really jolly – amazing that you created and then received birds!

  2. Silvana a.k.a. silort Says:

    Ruthie!!!!!!! You rock and Debbie rocks also!!!!! The both mini are true masterpieces!!! Lucky you and lucky Debbie!!!

  3. Sandi H. Says:

    I love the details you each put into your birds. Debbie’s has such wonderful attitude walking through the flowers. The beads hanging from the umbrella. Kudos to you both.

  4. adaisygarden Says:

    Cute!!

  5. Karen in Tucson Says:

    Your birds are exquisite. Great job.

Leave a Reply

