Playing with my new camera…

I’ve been in the market for  a new camera, and recently read a lot of positive information about a lens by Tamron~ 150-600mm with which birders have been having a lot of good experience.  I bit the bullet, and found one locally.  These are a few pictures that I took today while messing around with it!  Hope you enjoy!

DSC_0005Male Wood Duck in a pond  (He’ll make a repeat visit as he is such a stunning fellow!)

And yes, he’s the male of the species…

In the birding world, the females tend to forget their makeup, so the males have to wear it!  LOL!

DSC_0028Red Wing Blackbird

DSC_0092Great Blue Herons at the Rookery at Farmington Bay.  (Still need to work on the focus of these guys…  They are a tad too far away!)

DSC_0009And last, for his encore performance, Mr. Wood Duck!  (Boring name for such a stunning duck!)  If you can, zoom in on the image.  I think I’m loving my new lens and camera!  Thanks for visiting!!!

Tags: , , ,

12 Responses to “Playing with my new camera…”

  1. adaisygarden Says:

    So much fun to play with a new camera! I’ve had mine for over 3 years and I still feel like a kid with a new toy whenever I use it.

  2. treadlemusic Says:

    That last photo is AMAZING!!!!!!!! Wow!!!!!

  3. Sue Tanner Says:

    beautiful photos

  4. KerryCan Says:

    That last photo is amazing! The detail, the color, the reflection–wow!

  5. Sandi H. Says:

    Great photos Ruth, I’ve found if I can focus the eyes of an animal the impact is amazing. Your picture of the red winged blackbird is lovely.

    The reflections you caught of the wood duck are great.

    Have fun with your new toy!

  6. Marilyn Hartley Says:

    Oh Ruth! I wish I’d been there with you (with my Nikon!) Gorgeous shots!

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Thanks Marilyn! If you’re ever in Utah, I have a ton of places to take you! I even found a feral herd (?) of Peacocks up by one of the lakes. Haven’t got good pictures of them yet…

Leave a Reply

