A little Sourdough Bread Tutorial…

First of all, I’m a quilter, not a baker, so all results are individual to each participant!  LOL!

(That was my not-so-legal disclaimer.)

Since I had to throw out my last sour dough start due to lack of use, I had to start all over.

Thought you might like to see how I do it, and join along if you’re so motivated!

A special thanks to my buddy Vivian for sharing a sourdough start and her recipes with me!

(She did give me permission to share with all of you…)

Sourdough Start:

2 cups warm water (I use tap water, but Vivian swears by Distilled)

1 package of dry yeast

2 cups flour

1 Tbs sugar.  (Oh my gosh!  I used 1 cup!

No wonder it exploded!  More on that later.)

We’ll proceed like I didn’t make that huge blunder and see how the bread comes out…

DSC_0004Put warm water into crock.  I usually use a large mouth glass quart jar.  DO NOT USE METAL UTENSILS OR CROCKS!

Sprinkle yeast over water and stir with a wooden spoon until dissolved.  DSC_0006Add flour and sugar (1 Tbs for numbskulls like me.)

Mix until smooth.  Cover and set aside for 36 to 45 hours.  (I marked the calendar for when it would be ready to use.)

Stir each time you are in the kitchen. When it is ready, I pour 1 1/2 cup starter from main crock into a separate jar to prepare

for a double batch which makes about 3 loaves.  I cover 1 1/2 cup starter and put it in the refrigerator overnight to slow the growth.

Then I add 1 cup flour and 1 cup water to remaining sourdough start in large crock, and stir well.  Large crock remains on the counter.

Both jars are covered with Parchment paper folded in half and use rings to secure.

Use a toothpick to poke a hole in the center of the parchment paper to allow starter to vent.DSC_0009

(I double my batch to save on cooking time and ease of clean-up!)   I will give you the recipe for the way that I make it!

About Sourdough:  Every time you take sourdough from your crock for a recipe, you always add 1 cup of flour and 1 cup water.

Your main crock needs to sit out overnight to allow fermentation. If you don’t use it the next day, you can refrigerate it up to a week.

If you’re going to be longer than that, just discard a cup or so of starter and then “re-feed” with 1 cup flour and 1 cup water.

(It should be the consistency of mud when it’s stirred together.)

It is alright to have “bubbling” or a layer of tan fluid on top of your starter.  Just mix it back together with a wooden spoon.

Now for what not to do…

DON’T ADD 1 CUP OF SUGAR!!!

DSC_0010I couldn’t understand why it was bubbling up so much.  It didn’t do that last time…

And when I took the rings off…  *POP*!!!DSC_0011I’ll know by this evening if I have to remake my starter.  Hopefully it’s still good 😉

Thanks for visiting!  And make sure you only add 1 Tablespoon of sugar…

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “A little Sourdough Bread Tutorial…”

  1. Quilt Musings Says:

    That sounds like my kind of cooking! 😀

  2. treadlemusic Says:

    I use starter for all my bread making and have not ever added sugar to the starter! You had a whole lot of excited yeasties just feasting on those sugar carbs!!!!! LOL! And a whole cup!!!!! I’m sure that could have qualified as a WMD (weapon of mass destruction)!!!!! lol,lol,lol,lol………………………………

Leave a Reply

