Another Birding Adventure…

We went for a drive yesterday out in the middle of nowhere to look for Short-eared Owls…  We were successful in that we found some.  The photos?  Not so much!  LOL!  Here is the photo I took (the best one) of a Short-eared Owl…DSC_0119 (2)No prizes for sharpness on this one!

DSC_0006I did like this shot of a Snowy Egret!  Nope, he wasn’t centered, but I’ll take what I can get!

DSC_0062These two lovebirds are Clark’s Grebes…  I love the way their heads almost make a heart shape!

DSC_0070 (2)This is my favorite shot of a White-faced Ibis.  Cool birds!

DSC_0074 (2)This one isn’t perfectly focused, but I love the ethereal looking fence that the hawk is landing on…

DSC_0079This is Mr. Sandhill Crane.   Can you find the Mrs.?

DSC_0126 (2)This is a male Harrier. My favorite Harrier picture by far!  Yes, he is cropped to heck!

DSC_0265These guys are Red-breasted Mergansers.  These are so cool!  I love their funky hair!

DSC_0367I’ve been practicing photographing birds in flight and these are the best ones that I got!  And they’re ducks!  (They may look like ducks, but they’re really called Cinnamon Teals…  Far more poetic don’t you think?!  Thanks Otterdaughter!  Love your name btw…)

 I love this picture.  You can see water droplets coming off their bodies as they fly.

Couldn’t have planned that if I had tried!

DSC_0502And last but not least some sweet little Cave Swallows!

Thanks for coming on my little birding expedition!

I have HMQS coming up this week, so quilting pictures will be here soon!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Another Birding Adventure…”

  1. Otterdaughter Says:

    The ducks in your photo are Cinnamon Teal, way cooler than Mallards!

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Okay, I’ll have to go and look! I may have mis-titled them… (Wouldn’t be the first time! LOL!)

      • ruthiequilts Says:

        Oh my gosh! How could I not see that?! You are so right! I just did the “assumption” thing and thought they were ducks. Clearly Cinnamon Teals! Thanks for bringing that to my attention! Way cooler than ducks!

  2. Quilt Musings Says:

    Your photography is amazing! What a wondrful outing.

  3. KerryCan Says:

    I love the harrier and the snowy egret (but they’re all good!)

  4. mandymunroe Says:

    Great shots! – and thanks for naming the birds, 🙂

  5. adaisygarden Says:

    Beautiful pictures! I can see you are still having fun with your camera! 🙂 The photos are the kind that make me want to go outside and enjoy a nice, quiet place where I can just watch the wildlife!

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Yes, it’s been a whole lot of fun! I agree, sometimes I’d love to go out by myself and see what comes around me instead of me hunting for them!

Leave a Reply

