My RJR Challenge Quilt… “Crayon Canyon”

Here is my entry for the RJR Utah Landscape Challenge Quilt…  They provided 1/2 yard cuts of each of the 7 colored fabrics pictured. We were allowed to use 4 additional fabrics, but I challenged myself to use just what they provided.  I joke that it looks like the kids left a package of crayons in the car and it melted to make a landscape!  This quilt was patterned from a picture that I took of “Double O Arch” in Arches National Park…  I just love our redrock country here in Utah!!!

IMG_3203Yes, it is bright!  It will be like sunshine in the winter…

IMG_3204And here’s the back…  Each color in the quilt was quilted using it’s matching colors of thread!

IMG_3207A couple of close-ups on the quilting!

IMG_3209This was really a fun quilt to make!  See it at HMQS now!

Thanks for stopping by!

Tags: , , , , ,

12 Responses to “My RJR Challenge Quilt… “Crayon Canyon””

  1. treadlemusic Says:

    Oooo, Ruthie…..that is so pretty and your “self challenge” paid off “in spades”!!!!! That totally looks like a painted picture!!!!! Such “painted desert” scenes are my fave!!!!! Hugs………………

  2. adaisygarden Says:

    I don’t know if I like the front or the back better! — You did an amazing job on both!

  3. Sandi H. Says:

    Just lovely Ruthie, one of my happy places on earth is visiting the canyons and national parks in Utah, my favourite is Bryce, then Arches.

  4. soma1773 Says:

    Wonderful, Ruth! I love Arches, double arch is one of my favourites. The quilting is stunning. How are you ever going to show both sides together because I can’t pick which one l like better?!!

    -Soma

  5. fromsomewherewithlovex Says:

    Beautiful 🙂

  6. Debbie Says:

    Omg! That is fantastic,

Leave a Reply

