Such a precious gift…

As many of you may know, I lost my Mother in February to a long battle with Alzheimers.

I have belonged to a group on flickr  for several years called the “Epiphany Group” that makes quilts for online friends who

are having a difficult time.

This time, I was the recipient… DSC_0010My online friends (and one sneaky local friend) each made a block, and sent them on to Quiltedoma (Andrea) who stitched them into a quilt top.  Batting and backing was donated by members and the quilt was quilted by CASharp (Cindy) from “Tops To Treasures”  Bouncypoodle (Pattiann) bound it and applied the label and then Nannette invited my to breakfast.

DSC_0016Nann made the special delivery in person!

DSC_0011My friends made this in my favorite colors…  Each block is a  master piece!

DSC_0100I’ll post some close-ups so you can see them all…DSC_0101

DSC_0102

DSC_0103And finally the label…

DSC_0106A special thanks to JGMehlin, Laura VanVleet, Spiced Coffee, Karin F., Quiltedoma, EdyB1, Silort, Mamacjt, DeeRooG, FriedaZZZZ, Mollyjolly, Sewgentle, SandyinBA, Suzy H (sneaky!) Soma, Bouncypoodle, MarilynKB, Yayaquilter, Sewjo, Lesliecan’tstopquilting, Flossieblossoms, CASharp, Nanotchka, JanBran, Sewwunderful, and JanR.  Thank you all for these beautiful blocks!  What a treasure!  There is nothing better than a fabric hug from friends all around the world!  I love you all!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

24 Responses to “Such a precious gift…”

  1. Carol Says:

    WOW! How beautiful!!

  2. Sue Tanner Says:

    How gorgeous, lovely friends you have.

  3. Susan Mautte Says:

    Your friends aren’t nearly as awesome as you are, Ruthie! I’m proud to be one of them, regardless. 😉 We love you madly, dearheart.

  4. laflor5233 Says:

    Very cheerful.

  5. Michelle Stay Says:

    That’s so sweet! Everybody loves you Ruthie!!

  6. patskrafts@comcast.net Says:

    That quilt is really nice and the group did a nice job. I hope you enjoy it all the time.

    Pat

    >

  7. patskrafts@comcast.net Says:

    Oh Ruthie I hope I didn’t upset you yesterday when I was talking about the fig it quilts. I knew your Mom passed but I didn’t know from what. So I just want to say I’ Sorry.

    Pat

    >

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Not at all Pat! They are definitely something that help… We had patients in the Nursing Home that I worked at that would fold wash clothes… Same type of thing… No need to apologize my friend!

  8. adaisygarden Says:

    Absolutely beautiful! What a treasure! How wonderful to have such friends! Will you display the quilt on the wall, or will you use it on a bed, or maybe on sofa for TV-watching comfort? 🙂

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      For now, I just want to fondle it and look at all the blocks over and over again… I’m afraid to leave it out where my boys can make a mess out of it. I’ll use it on the couch after they’re in bed…

  9. Sandi H. Says:

    What a lovely bright whimsical quilt to cuddle under or display on your wall. I’m sure there are several special messages attached to each and every block for you.

    Enjoy this beauty and hold onto the memories of you mom..they will last you a lifetime especially with Mother’s Day on Sunday.

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      I love it… It is a happy quilt that will remind me of growing up with my Mom. She was such a talented lady. And she was quilting before it was fashionable. Thank you Sandi!

  10. KerryCan Says:

    This is the best thing EVER! You are so lucky to have such wonderful (and talented) friends!

  11. soma1773 Says:

    You are always so wonderful and sweet, dear Ruth, you make my day brighter with your smile and your lightheartedness 🙂

    Hugs,
    -Soma

  12. Deonn Says:

    What a wonderful treasure from your friends around the globe. So sorry for the loss of your mother. There are mothers and then there are other mothers. So sweet.

Leave a Reply

