Trunk Full of Quilts!

My good friend Soma at http://www.whimsandfancies.com is hosting an online Trunk Show…  For those of you who follow my blog may have guessed, I have a trunk, closet, house, and garage full of quilts!  Lots of them are little…  But I have my share of big ones as well.Stained Glass mini quilt

This little quilt was created for a “Not Square or Rectangle” mini quilt swap on flickr.  I used a stained glass pattern, and bias strips for the black.  I love this technique!

Mini coin quilt made for Wolfmom2ac

This little quilt was made for a Chinese Coin Swap on flickr…  I used bullion roses to decorate the bottom.

Here We Sit Placemat PQS3

This was for a place mat swap on flickr…  (You’ll definitely see a theme here!)

101_3963

This is a close up of the quilting on a Modern Doll Quilt Swap.

100_5685

I made this little quilt for the precious baby sitting on it!

???????????????????????????????

And this is me in my tiara, having won the “Recycled Quilt” Challenge for Roy Quilt Guild!  The petals are made from Pistachio shells.  I drilled holes in them and stitched them on like buttons…

IMG_1743

I made this little NYB to swap with one of my friends…  She made me 2 applique quilt tops in return!

IMG_1902

I made this quilt with scraps for Happy Chemo.  I took lots of pictures of it on a looong drive to Northern Montana.

IMG_2296

This little snowman quilt was made for a swap on flickr…

IMG_2602

I donated this little quilted clock to the Utah State Quilt Guild for a fundraiser.

IMG_2963

In Layton, we swapped pre-cut teacups with fusible already applied.  We were challenged to bring in our quilts the following month.  This is what I came up with!

???????????????????????????????

I know, you’re supposed to love all your children equally, but this is one of my favorite quilts!  I was given several of the flower die cuts in Layton Quilt Guild as an on time drawing.  I incorporated them into my “Show Stopper” challenge quilt which was supposed to show movement.

Power of 13 Challenge Quilt

This is my Challenge quilt I made for Roy Quilt Guild.  It represents “The Power of 13”  I was given a fat quarter, and a package of buttons and came up with this design.  It has 13 (or multiples) of each item.  Plus I quilted 13 on the right hand side.

IMG_0146

This was a swap piece that I experimented using micro quilting and fabric paint on…  Love the way this came out!

IMG_0246

This was a Fair Challenge Quilt  summer before last.  I used a UFO block I had made in a class in the center and designed the quilt around it.

???????????????????????????????

Who doesn’t love Rat Zombie?!  I still see a future in store for him…

IMG_0783

I quilted this quilt for Roy Quilt Guild using “Bingo blocks” we had made.  I added the white strips on the diagonal.

IMG_1334

My claim to fame!  (Or infamy as the case may be…)  I swapped these house blocks with my friend Silvana over 12 months.  When we were finished, I designed the quilt.  I’d live here, wouldn’t you?!

IMG_2904

Another flickr swap…  I designed this myself.

IMG_3203

This quilt was for the RJR Landscape Challenge at HMQS this year.  It won an honorable mention…  I called it “Crayon Canyon”.

DSC_3685

This was made using the underwater/beach theme blocks I received in the BBC (Bitty Block Committee) on flickr.

127_0581

We exchanged fabric colors in a small group that I belong to, “Prairie Fairies”.  I put mine together differently for sake of the quilting.

127_0727

This is this years’ Utah State Fair Challenge Quilt.  The challenge fabric is the white with circle designs.

127_0753

I made this one for a Kaffe Swap on FB.

127_0790

Just finished this little quilt as a gift…

Thanks for joining me in Whims and Fancies “A Trunk Full of Quilts”!  Feel free to follow me by entering your email address in the sidebar!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

46 Responses to “Trunk Full of Quilts!”

  1. Cheyanne Says:

    Your quilts are GORGEOUS! I love, love LOVE the recycled quilt! What a creative use of pistachio shells. 🙂

  2. Jan Smith Says:

    Thank you you are so talented

    Jan Smith

    Date: Tue, 10 Nov 2015 17:08:40 +0000 To: jansypan@hotmail.com

  3. krislovesfabric Says:

    Great to see so many of your pretty quilts in one post 🙂

  4. Patty D from NC Says:

    So many wonderful pieces of work. I like that they aren’t all traditionally shaped.

  5. Carol Says:

    This was an amazing journey through your quilt trunk! You really have made some gorgeous quilts!

  6. legato1958 Says:

    What fun to see all of the treasures in your trunk! I know that any partner who gets paired with you is estatic!! I am especially in love with your birds on the spools mini!!!
    Susie

  7. Lara B. Says:

    What a delightful show Ruthie! I’d sure love to see a lot of those quilts up close. They are gorgeous and you are very talented!

  8. Quilter in Motion Says:

    What gorgeous quilts you have made. I love the NYBs but then I always love NYBs. Paper piecing makes such wonderful things possible, doesn’t it! Thanks for sharing.
    Marsha
    quilterinmotion.net

  9. Connie Campbell Says:

    Beautiful quilts!

  10. Beth Strand Says:

    Such beautiful quilts! Thanks for sharing!

  11. cheryljbrickey Says:

    All of your quilts are just beautiful! Such variety in the colors, styles, sizes, and quilting!

  12. quilterpt Says:

    Such wonderful quilts, and such an assortment. I like the beach/water quilt, and your recycled quilt. Clever use of pistachio shells!

  13. soma @ whimsandfancies.com Says:

    Oh My Goodness, Ruth! So many beauties and such gorgeous quilting!! I am not surprised that they are award winners. Thank you for sharing, dear friend 🙂

    -Soma

  14. anudge Says:

    Wow – now that was an entire quilt show! Loved the recycled quilt, the one with the precious baby, teatime, the power of 13 so many! Now in what mag is your happy village pattern? Thanks so much for sharing!!

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Well thank you! The Wonky House pattern was in The National Associations “Quilting Quarterly” but they disbanded the group before all of the patterns came out. They’re still available to members online. 😦

  15. JanineMarie Says:

    Wow, your trunk is full of so many treasures!! The three that caught my attention most were the modern doll quilt with the circles, the adorable baby quilt (and baby!!) and the pistachios quilt (a real bit of genius!), but I really like them all. Such variety!

  16. Carla Says:

    Oh what a wonderful show! I don’t think I have ever seen a quilted clock!

  17. Sharon Says:

    What a marvelous collection of stunning work! You know how to ‘think’ a challenge and certainly rise to the challenge. Just a wonderful showing of quilts.

  18. Pat in WNY Says:

    What a fabulous trunk show! Thanks for sharing!

  19. Laura Says:

    You’ve had so much fun experimenting with various techniques. The house block quilt is alot of fun.

  20. Wendy Says:

    So many beautiful designs, and such an array of different techniques and also colours! Loved this post … you are a very creative quilter 🙂

  21. lapaylor Says:

    pistachio shells! Bwaa hahaha what an array of fun work, must be fun to hang out with you! Lucky quilt guild people! LeeAnna at not afraid of color

  22. Karen H Says:

    Wow – such a great variety of quilt styles. The use of the pistachio shells for the cherry blossoms is brilliant. Thanks for the interesting trunk show!

  23. Leanne Parsons Says:

    Wow – so many beautiful quilts! The pistachio shell one is brilliant, and I love the birds on the spools!

Leave a Reply

