Playing Hooky…

Instead of doing chores like I had planned, I was distracted by the beautiful clouds this morning…  I cut my jogging route short by about 2 miles and headed out to Antelope Island.  Fair warning, this is a photo heavy post!  (What else you would expect from me anyway?  LOL!)

DSC_7607These grasses are beautiful, but one of the Volunteers here tell me they’re quite pervasive and squeezing out the cattail population…  The birds don’t like the seeds from these grasses so it doesn’t attract them like the cattails once did.

DSC_7623In my opinion, there is no place more beautiful to capture a great sky shot!  The colors changed so dramatically from one moment to the rest…

DSC_7637It was cold and chilly, but the view was worth it.

DSC_7689The buffalo didn’t have a care in the world.

  Except for…

DSC_7695pesky European Starlings!  A whole flock flew in and tried to land on one buffalo.  He wasn’t having any part of it!

DSC_7738On the other side of the island, a lone coyote wandered around looking for treats.

DSC_7782A flock of Northern Shovelers huddled together in the cool water.  They took flight as I stopped for a picture.

DSC_7750And this is the first time that I’ve seen Snow Geese!  They are so graceful in flight.

Thanks for visiting Antelope Island with me…  It is a fabulous State Park here in Northern Utah!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Playing Hooky…”

  1. Cheyanne Says:

    Gorgeous! 🙂 Playing hooky is good for the soul 🙂

  2. Sandi Says:

    Lovely photos, love the snow geese one and the birds taking flight in particular.

  3. KerryCan Says:

    Great photos! I love the snow geese–they come here every year on their trips north and south. I have taken a zillion photos of them and never feel I’ve really captured how great they are.

Leave a Reply

