Juvenile Eagles and a little Downy Woodpecker…

On Monday, my son and I took a drive to the bird refuge…  Unfortunately, it’s frozen almost solid and so the Tundra Swans have left and continued on to California.  (According to the gal working in the Visitors Center…)  We did see a lot of Harriers and Hawks, but no Eagles.  However, on the drive there, we were a little distracted by this site…

DSC_8512

There are 9 juvenile Bald Eagles in this picture!  My son and I counted 41 that day!!!  (The adults are hiding out somewhere else, we only saw a couple of them…)

We drove back today and went for a little walk through the woods…  There were a lot fewer than on Monday, but this is what we saw.

????????????????????????????????????

Juvenile Bald Eagle

Some people can tell the difference whether the Juveniles are First,  Second, or Third year Juveniles.  They don’t get their white heads or tails until they’re 4 years old.  I’m not that skilled, although I see a scruff of white at the base of this guys neck so I’m guessing almost adult!

 

????????????????????????????????????

Taking flight…

????????????????????????????????????

Juvenile Bald Eagle in flight…

Gosh they are majestic!  Did I mention that already?!  LOL!

????????????????????????????????????

Check out that wingspan!

And as I’m focusing on Eagles, my bird nerd son (our whole family wears that term proudly!) spots this little guy!

DSC_8778And he isn’t even cropped!  What a view!  A little male Downy Woodpecker.  He’s so cute!

Thanks for stopping by!

Bird Nerd on board…

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Juvenile Eagles and a little Downy Woodpecker…”

  1. Elisabeth Says:

    Happy New Year to you! I always enjoy reading your blog!

  2. KerryCan Says:

    WOW–those eagles are amazing! But that little woodpecker makes me smile–great photo.

Leave a Reply

