Little Covered Tin Tutorial…

One of my friends, Paula, in Roy Quilt Guild gave me a baggie full of little tins as I am the “birthday person” this year.

I have been tasked to make little handmade gifties for all 30+ members of the guild to give them at meeting on their birthday months.

Paula told me of these fabulous little tins she had been seeing on Pinterest.  Sure enough I cruised on over there to see what she was talking about.

What a fun bunch of stuff to look at!

So this is what I did with the baggie of tins….127_0910I spray painted them all a neutral color.  I used the spray paint that I had in the house, which is ancient!  But that’s okay, all of that will be covered when I’m done with them…127_0912Next, I hot glued magnets in the bottom of the tins.  Make sure that your magnet is where you want it before you put it down or it will stick where you don’t want it to.  (First one!  LOL!) The magnet is a great place to store needles/pins for retreats/classes.

127_0914Next, I Mod-podged the top of the tin and put it upside down on the wrong side of my fabric.

127_0917I smoothed out the top, and then cut around the tin a little more than 1/8th of an inch.  (It will depend on how big your tin is…  Look at the edge of the lid and see how wide it is.)

127_0920After you trim the edges, use more Mod-podge around the edge of the fabric.127_0924Smooth around all 4 sides of the lid.

Don’t get Mod-podge on your fingers.  😉

127_0925If you have more than one tin, it’s fun to play with variety!

127_0926Hot glue some trim around raw edge of the fabric to hide the unfinished sides.  Start with a dot of hot glue at the hinge side of the tin and hot glue every 1/4 or 1/2 inch or so…  When you have the trim all the way around, you can put a dot of hot glue at the end to secure/finish it.  I will probably play with some embellishments for the top when I’m not trying to get them finished so quickly!  😉  It pays to have a birthday later in the year…

127_0950Thanks for stopping by!

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Little Covered Tin Tutorial…”

  1. Quilt Musings Says:

    30+ gifts! That is quite an undertaking! Your tins are quite cute and a great idea for a gift.

  2. laflor5233 Says:

    I’ve been wanting to do something like this to a few tins I have, but want to use washi tape, just haven’t had time.

  3. Inese Poga Art plus Life Says:

    Amazing! Such a very detailed work!

Leave a Reply

