Mug Rug I made for Layton Quilt Guild’s swap…

I made this little mug rug for a swap in my local guild…  The theme was, “A touch of green.”  I quilted the area first, and then painted it with fabric paints.

102_1031

I really love this technique!  Irena Bluhm told me how she does it on FB a while ago.  This is the third little piece that I’ve done.

102_1036

Thanks for visiting!

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Mug Rug I made for Layton Quilt Guild’s swap…”

  1. Quilt Musings Says:

    That’s fantastic! The Mctavishing gives the background so much movement and texture. I was surprised the leaves were painted. I thought it was green fabric.

  2. Beezus Says:

    This is gorgeous, Ruth! I have some shiva sticks that I want to try but I never seem to get to that level of new experimentation. 🙂

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Thanks Maria! I used Jacquard paint with a paint brush along the edges and then Shiva stick on the middle. I didn’t think I’d be able to get the Shiva stick up against the edges…

  3. KerryCan Says:

    Very nice! The colors and the quilting all make it look so rich!

  4. jan Smith Says:

    love this so different

Leave a Reply

