Birding at Fort Buenaventura with WAS!

We went on a birding walk today at Fort Buenaventura with the Wasatch Audubon Society (WAS)…  We saw a wonderful variety of birds!

Hope you enjoy this little trip!

DSC_2935We saw a lot of Robins and Starlings.  The fellow was so cooperative that I had to take his pictureDSC_2948I have to admit that this was quite a thrill!  I’ve seen lots of Great Horned Owls, and Owlets in the Hay Barn, but this is the first time I’ve seen them nest raised!  And what cute little babes they are!  Mama was quite pretty too!

????????????????????????????????????

And I think this may be a female American Goldfinch or a Lesser Goldfinch?  Feel free to let me know if you have a better identification!

????????????????????????????????????

A male Downy Woodpecker…

I wasn’t able to get a good picture of his lady friend, but we did see her as well!

????????????????????????????????????

This is a White-breasted Nuthatch…  Quite rare to see around here!

????????????????????????????????????

And here’s a new bird for my collection!  It’s a Brown Creeper!  This little guy moves fast!  I was lucky to get any shot of him!  (Sorry it’s a meh photo!)

We also saw several Song Sparrows, a rapidly disappearing Kingfisher, some species of hawk, a Northern flickr, and some Mallards. ,

Thanks for visiting!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Birding at Fort Buenaventura with WAS!”

  1. Maria Says:

    Hi Ruth, I always enjoy your birding photos! The yellow bird probably isn’t a female goldfinch, although it might be a male. They’re pretty common in this neck of the woods (Nashville), and I used to have them feeding in my backyard all the time. The females are usually olive-y and drab looking, as are the young males throughout late fall and winter. I can’t tell from the photo if this is a goldfinch or lesser finch, though. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • ruthiequilts Says:

      Thanks for the information and kind words Maria! Later in the season I’ll have an easier time identifying them for sure!!! I’ve only seen a few yellow birds so far this spring, and they’re a wee bit pale compared to how bright they’ll be later… Thanks again!

  2. treadlemusic Says:

    All are gorgeous BUT the robin is my love (a wonderful harbinger of Spring!!!!!)

Leave a Reply

