A couple of quilt shows…

I have some quilts hanging at Union Station in Ogden this month….  I thought you might enjoy seeing them!

Here is my funky hand-dyed piece, “Steam Punk Milkyway”.  I dyed the fabric, and then quilted the heck out of it, (shocking that I would do that right?!  LOL!), adding some eyelash yarn around one of the “planets”.  Then I painted some un-quilted areas using “Lumiere” metallic fabric paints by Jacquard.  Lastly, I used some thin wire I had left over from my beading days and created swirls which I added to the un-quilted squares sandwiched between the “stairs” and hung some more tightly curled swirls on the moon.

This piece is called “Crayon Canyon”.  I designed it from a photograph.  This one hung in Padukah at the “National Quilt Museum” as part of the “Simply Southwest” exhibit.  The picture doesn’t show the colors super well.  They look like crayons!  (That melted when left in a hot car all day.)

And last but not least, “Little Garden Beauty”.  I used Kaffee prints on a neutral background.  This is one of my faves!

Meanwhile, up the road at the Brigham City Museum, the Utah Quilt Guild’s Ruby Jubilee is in full swing!  I have 2 quilts that I quilted for Roy, and Layton Quilt Guilds…

This one was titled, “Royal Stars” and was pieced by Roy Quilt Guild members, and designed by Patsy Shelton.  I love this pattern!!!

And here comes Layton Quilt Guild’s quilt…

It was designed by Lorri Bashein, pieced by members of Layton Quilt Guild, and the center was hand embroidered by Brenda Sacher.

Thanks for visiting the exhibits with me!!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

